MCAT blues

It’s been well over a week since my last post. I’ve been pretty busy with work and filling out scholarship apps, which is a full-time job in itself but worthwhile, considering how expensive tuition is. I thought my undergraduate tuition was pricey but I was flabbergasted when I saw my tuition costs over the next five years.

I’ve also been busy studying for the **cue dark, ominous voice, echoing voice** MCAT (dun dun dunnn)! The MCAT is a “standardized, multiple-choice examination created to help medical school admissions offices assess your problem solving, critical thinking, and knowledge of natural, behavioral, and social science concepts and principles prerequisite to the study of medicine”. P-MAP does not require us to take it before applying to the program, but it must be completed with a minimum score of 490 before we complete the master’s program in May 2018.

I have some free time now to study so I will be taking the test on April 28, before beginning the master’s program on May 15. So far, my schedule is running smoothly. I’m using Kaplan as my main source but also have ExamKrackers and Princeton Review for reference. I’ve had to schedule my study time around my work schedule but the basic structure is: Biology and Chemistry on Monday, Biochemistry and Math, Physics on Tuesday, work then Behavioral Sciences on Wednesday, work then CARS on Thursday, Organic Chemistry on Saturday night and review/practice on Sunday then work. I have the EK 101 practice questions, AAMC bundle pack questions and the questions from Kaplan and EK.

So far, pretty much everything looks familiar and has been a review session. Except Math/Physics (dun dun dunnn). I took two semesters of physics and my last math was calculus II. Afterwards, I shoved those textbooks into the deepest recesses of my closet. Or I may have doused them in gasoline and tossed them into a bonfire then danced around the fire-pit… I can’t quire recall.

Seriously though, I am almost ashamed to admit it but I had to watch khan academy to remember which sides of a triangle belong to sin and cosine, and I had to look up Pythagorean’s theorem. I’ve always assumed I was smarter than a 5th grader but now…*shoulder shrug*

Anyhow, I guess my break from my fun friends “vector” and “scalar” is over now. Later alligators!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

