Nothing Between

“Nothing between, like worldly pleasure;
Habits of life, though harmless they seem,
Must not my heart from Him e’er sever;
He is my all, there’s nothing between”

Refrain
“Nothing between my soul and the Saviour,
So that His blessed face may be seen;
Nothing preventing the least of His favor,
Keep the way clear! Let nothing between”

The words of this hymn came to mind today as I struggled to make a decision. Harmless as the situation seemed, it would have placed me in a precarious place that might’ve led to compromise my values.

In considering my dilemma, I thought of Daniel 1:8, “Daniel purposed in his heart that he would not defile himself”. What impressed me the most about this story was that Daniel was purposeful in his intention to honor God’s standards. He was committed to his values. His home country had been invaded and he was enslaved to serve the king of Babylon. Yet, from the very beginning of his story, he was absolutely decided in his faith. Not knowing his fate, Daniel decided that no matter what was ahead of him, he would be obedient. No circumstances would alter his path. No excuses needed to justify any straying. He was firm in his faith.

I was impressed by his example and thought about how it should be applied in my life. Following Christ means that I need to be intentional in my purpose to follow His path. Making this determination in my heart means that when I am in difficult circumstances, I will have the clarity to discern right from wrong. It is important to make a daily commitment to love and honor Christ, as He loves us. By doing this, I have a clear path to follow, which sometimes translates into removing myself from situations that may lead to sin.

Although I am saddened by the decision I made, my conscience and heart are at peace. And there is nothing that matters more to me than that–“Nothing between my soul and the Saviour…keep the way clear! Let nothing between”.

Leave a Reply

