Happenings

Whew! It’s been a busy few weeks for me. Part of the reason I began this blog was to record and remember different happenings in my life. So here are a few.

I have become vegetarian…again! I was vege from the ages of 14 to 18 and then again from 23 to 26. Looking back at my vege experiences however, I find that while I avoided meat, I stuffed myself full of sugar and carbs. Essentially, I was missing the whole point of being vegetarian. This time around, I have the intention of being a healthy, wholesome vege!

Lucky for me, I have cousins that are vegan/vege and have shared their recipes and some really great tips with me. I have been making my own “meats” from ingredients like walnuts, pumpkin, flax or sunflower seeds and other yumminess. On Valentines, Paul and I cooked a delicious dinner of vege meatloaf, mashed potatoes and one of my favorite appetizers in the world, bruschetta. My church has vegetarian potlucks (Seventh Day Adventists have been promoting vegetarianism/veganism since the mid-1800s) and our friend Eric makes the best vege meatloaf I’ve ever tasted. Yes it’s even better than “real” meatloaf. He shared the recipe with us and it was definitely a hit in our tummies! We bought some beautiful tomatoes from Sprouts and a crusty baguette and balsamic vinegar from Trader Joe’s for the bruschetta and it was delicious. I could’ve eaten the bruschetta alone and called it a successful dinner. My tummy was definitely having a party.

Last Thursday, while we were at Sprouts trying out candied pecans, Paul’s stomach started hurting. He told me it was diffuse pain across the left abdomen, so I thought he probably just ate something bad and we got him some ginger ale and crackers. Later that night, he told me the pain had settled in his lower right quadrant. I work as a scribe in the Emergency Room and I round with doctors, charting the patient visit and examination. When a patient complains of pain and tenderness in the right lower quadrant, appendicitis is a concern. Knowing this, I immediately became worried. The pain continued to worsen through the night and early in the morning, we went to the E.D. where I work. Sure enough, he had appendicitis and had an appendectomy on Friday evening. He is still pretty sore from the surgery but he is definitely on the mend. We are blessed with amazing church family who came and stayed with us before and during Paul’s surgery. I am so grateful all went well!

Leave a Reply

