Pride

Yesterday, I was asked if I could write a short feature piece detailing my educational journey. A friend of mine is on a committee that is putting together a program that supports and promotes higher education for Polynesian youths and their parents. The committee has been posting feature pieces of Polynesian individuals who have graduated from college on Facebook to promote the program.

In all honesty, when my friend asked me, the first response that popped in my head was a resounding, “NO”! However, I prayed about it and began to search out my heart on why I didn’t want to do the piece.

When I was accepted into the P-MAP program, I was careful about who I told, not wanting too many people to know about it. My reason? Pride.

Pride has been a vice that I have asked God to remove from heart. My daily submission to Him is a process of humbling myself before His throne, and acknowledging that everything good in my life is a direct result of His blessing. I have been afraid that when people offered their congratulations, it would start to go to my head and instead of lifting up our Heavenly Father, I would become prideful and think that I was self-sufficient.

The prayer of my heart has been 2 Corinthians 12:9, 10.

9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

I realized yesterday that I was fearful of myself and was not trusting that God would prevail over my sin. Had I not given my life to Him? Don’t I believe that I can obtain victory over sin through the power of Christ Jesus?

Yes and yes, I believe!!

I decided yesterday, that if this was the case, my piece would be an opportunity to showcase God’s love, mercy and power. I also believe that God’s timing is perfect. My heart may have not been in the right place five months ago to tell others about my journey but God has been preparing me for this moment. Just like the blind man He healed, just like the woman at the well, just like the cripple that walked again, I desire to share  my story of what He has accomplished in my life.

God is so good!!!!!!!

feature

The feature piece

feature1

Head shot that was taken at orientation

Leave a Reply

