Giving It All Up

The Cellular and Molecular Medicine curriculum is definitely keeping me on my toes! We finished Gross Anatomy which I enjoyed immensely. It was challenging but fascinating to understand how the body looks under the skin and what it’s capable of doing. We moved right into Cell Biology which I’m not overly fond of. The pathways that allow the body to undergo chemical processes are amazing but memorizing them is a little, well….dry, to say the least. They also have put the P-MAP cohort in a MCAT prep course which has been incredibly helpful in preparing for D-Day on August 11.

Although I enjoy this course, stress has been coming in like waves. Sometimes I wade right through it. Other times, it comes crashing down on my head and buries me. The ‘what ifs’ start piling up and I become anxious about the future.

A few weeks ago, I read the story about Hannah. Hannah and her husband had no children and she longed for a child. Elkanah had children with another woman named Peninnah. Elkanah openly loved Hannah more which angered Penninah and led her to taunt Hannah. Patriarchs and Prophets reads, “[Y]et she met the trial with uncomplaining meekness…Hannah uttered no reproach. The burden which she could share with no earthly friend she cast upon God. Earnestly she pleaded that He would take away her reproach”. 1Samuel 1 reads, “In her deep anguish Hannah prayed to the Lord, weeping bitterly…Hannah replied, “I am a woman who is deeply troubled. I have not been drinking wine or beer; I was pouring out my soul to the Lord… Then she went her way and ate something, and her face was no longer downcast”.

When I have an issue, my husband will hear about first, my sister second and then God. But talking about my stress sometimes turns into a complaining session and my obstacles become like balloons–the more I breath I use to complain about them, the bigger they become. After too long, I’ve inflated my obstacles from a small balloon to a ginormous hot air balloon. By the time I pray about my situation, they seem too big to handle. In contrast, Hannah took her complaints straight to God and after pouring out her heart to Him, she was at peace “and her face was no longer downcast”.

Rather then walking around complaining to her husband or fighting with Penninah, Hannah took her sorrow straight to God, poured out her heart to Him, made her request for a son and then left in peace, having left all her hurt and worries behind her in prayer. What a powerful lesson in my life!

What a Friend we have in Jesus/ All our sins and griefs to bear/ What a privilege to carry/ Everything to God in prayer

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

